< Back to all posts
  • King, queen candidates announced for Snow Whirl

    Every year for the past 30+ years, the music department (band + choir) has hosted Snow Whirl, a themed dance held in the auxiliary gym. And every year, the bands and choirs nominate four senior boys and four senior girls to be finalists for Snow Whirl king and queen.

    The king and queen are crowned after a vote during the dance.

    This year's king candidates are Andrew Roembke, Matthew Rollo, Cody Smitley, and Patrick Watson. Cody Smitley is a choir member; the rest of the boys are in the Wind Ensemble.

    This year's queen candidates are Dakota Fisher, Holly Haney, Betsy McCleery, and Leah Peters. Dakota and Leah are choir members; Holly and Betsy are in the Wind Ensemble.

    Band and choir students also elected undergraduate princes and princesses:

    • Freshmen: Braden Westfall (choir) and Shiloh McFarland (band)
    • Sophomores: Emerson Bridgewater (choir) and Haley Merida (band)
    • Juniors: Jacob Crow (choir) and Dayton Jennings (band)

    Snow Whirl tickets are NOW on sale through Friday, Dec. 8, in the cafeteria during lunch period. Tickets cost $25 each. Snow Whirl itself is 8-11 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 9.

    This is the biggest fundraiser for the music department. Proceeds are divided between the bands and choirs.